Wednesday, 16 June 2010

June Emerson New Publications

We've just unpacked the latest batch of new publications from June Emerson. That woman will stop at nothing to keep wind players busy!

There are two arrangements of Gershwin's "Promenade" - also known as "Walking the Dog", from the 1937 film Shall We Dance . One is for flute choir, around grade 5-6 standard, the other for Saxophone Quintet (SAATB) . There is also an arrangement for wind quintet of Scott Joplin's Bethena, although it's aimed at players of Grade 6/7 standard.

There is a trio for Oboe, Violin and Piano called Air Variations and Finale by one Dorothy Howell, (1898-1982), apparently once referred to as "the finest woman composer of her era", although I'll be the first to admit I hadn't heard of her. Standard is quoted as Grade 8, for what is described as a "beautiful, lyrical work."

Bassoonists will make a meal of Four Tasty Morsels by Paul Lewis, or perhaps they could be an hors d'oeuvre to the virtuosic Airs Suedois for Bassoon and Piano by Bernhard Crusell.

Holst's Brook Green Suite, originally written for strings, has been arranged for Oboe and Piano by Russell Denwood. Clarinettists are treated to a Sonatina by Paul Carr, a piece called Gallimaufry by Jonathan Cooper and 21st Century Studies by Colin Radford. There's a Sonatina for Solo Saxophone and a three movement piece for Trumpet and Piano called Revelry by Philip Godfrey.

All these are in stock, now,available to browse.

Fortunately, there is absolutely NOTHING for Vuvuzela.

No comments:

Post a Comment